François-Xavier Roth on the Digital Concert Hall with the Berliner Philharmoniker

Find out the concert on the Digital Hall Concert HERE
Claude Debussy and Paul Dukas admired Richard Wagner’s music in their youth, resulting in a blend of French flavour and Wagnerian echoes in their early works. François-­Xavier Roth demonstrates that with Debussy’s mystical cantata La Damoiselle élue and Dukas’s overture Polyeucte. We also hear Dukas’s most popular symphonic poem, The Sorcerer’s Apprentice. Soloist for the concert is Isabelle Faust, who performs Béla Bartók’s Violin Concerto No. 2.
Berliner Philharmoniker
François-Xavier Roth
Isabelle Faust
Anna Prohaska
Adèle Charvet
Ladies of the Rundfunkchor Berlin
  1. Paul Dukas
    Polyeucte: Overture
  2. Béla Bartók
    Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 2, Sz 112
    Isabelle Faust, violin
  3. Claude Debussy
    La Damoiselle élue (The Blessed Damozel)
    Anna Prohaska, soprano
    Adèle Charvet, mezzo-soprano
    Ladies of the Rundfunkchor Berlinchoir
  4. Paul Dukas
    L’Apprenti sorcier (The Sorcerer’s Apprentice)